Date Nights

September’s date night didn’t happen…

4ecf1011bb20e8f0358c72a15efa80ec.jpg

So I’ll insert a few of my favorite related Pins from Pinterest (original sources unknown) instead.

The Target pin is so true and we actually did this numerous times due to the second pin about buying a house which leads to the reason we’ll be having third pins often. LOL

Onward to October’s dates 🙂

A friend sent me the most amazing looking pin in the world (at that moment). It was Pumpkin Cobbler. It’s promise of ease and tastiness drew me in. I bought all of the ingredients the next day. I was determined to bake this as it seemed perfect for dessert. My husband was intrigued because he hasn’t seen me this excited about a recipe since discovering cauliflower bread. He took our son while I started. We didn’t directly work together but it was still a team effort. Our quick dinner of frozen pizza and wings was done and our cobbler was minutes away from completion. I quickly put dinner on our plates and tried hard not to rush to dessert. Whomp whomp… Hubby was too sick to eat it. Poor guy couldn’t even finish dinner. But as bad as I felt for him I was thrilled for my success!

photogrid_1477109837210.jpg

I immediately cut myself a piece and was extremely pleased with both ease, taste and smell. Since he was feeling better after he slept a while he was able to have a piece. It wasn’t fresh out of the oven like I planned but he still said he enjoyed it. Then he went to sleep again so I didn’t count that as our date night.

One thing I discovered thanks to September’s fail and hubby getting sick was that we have a better chance of alone time in the morning during our son’s first nap. We didn’t do anything extravagant but it led to something exciting. A different version of the pumpkin cobbler recipe from Pinterest; pumpkin cobbler muffins. I wanted to make up for our precooked dinner earlier in the week due to my excitement over the cobbler so I decided to cook a homemade breakfast. It was faster, the first meal of the day and could be enjoyed while our son slept which meant we could actually spend this time together.

I warned him in advance I didn’t know the exact way to translate the recipe to muffins (individual servings) so it might not be as good as the original. While I prepared we talked about what we wanted to do for the day as well as things we wanted to do to the house as money allowed. Then we went our separate ways. He gamed and I baked. Once I was finished I emerged with sausage, potatoes, fried eggs and Pumpkin Cobbler Muffins!

wp-1477521490128.jpeg

Yummy! This recipe sparked a fire in me. Pinterest wasn’t only good for wasting a ton of time on things that looked pretty, sound good and were funny. Pinterest was actually useful. So I figured I’ll keep using Pinterest for fun recipes for in home date nights. Plus I can use it for Penny Date type ideas any time I need to come up with something outside of the home that’s adventurous and affordable. I must thank my friend and Pinterest for saving date night before it even became regular.

Leave a Reply

